The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Everything on this earth is subject to one universal constant: change. Culture is not an exception to the effects or change and this is observable by the ever-changing dynamics of culture which produces new side to the present culture. It is therefore important to understand new changes that are notices within a culture. Now there are numerous ways to do this but the most effective way to do this is to analyse the trends of the youths in that culture.

Firstly, compared to adults, youths are more open to try new things; to applying new concepts. A study by the Nigerian Ministry of art and Culture on the trends of dance culture in Nigeria has shown that approximately 90% of new dance steps are first mastered by the youth. The most plausible reason stated by the study is that youth are more free and ready to explore changes as they come. Therefore, in this instance the most effective way to learn a new trend in the dance culture would be to study the youths in Nigeria.

As a follow up to their willingness to try new things, youth have younger minds and brain so they are easily able to understand and apply new concepts in their culture compared to adults. A neurological study by neurologists in the USA that the younger the brain is the easier it is to understand new information; this is implies to be as a result of the fact that the brain is still relative new compared to that of adults which have begun to age and wizen. Most times the youth are even the ones that apply new concepts the learn through social media in their respective cultures, therefore they are in the best position to understand contemporary cultural changes which is mostly likely effected by them.

However, due to recent advances in technology older generation of citizens now have access to social media and are able to observe changes in their culture over the years. The best they can do is understand, they cannot give an accurate analysis of the changes in their culture because compares to them, the youths find it easier to understand this changes and apply them. For instance the advent of Pidgin language although a cultural variation of English language n south-south Nigeria, slangs form this language such as “Chop” which means eat is best understood by youths of that region.

In conclusion, changes in culture are inevitable the best way to trace these changes and understand contemporary culture would be to analyse trends in te youth. This is because the youths are more open to trying new things and have the younger brains to understand and apply such trends in their culture.