The most ideal path for a society to set up its youngsters for positions of authority in government, industry, or different fields is by imparting in them a feeling of collaboration, not rivalry."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In today's society the main problem with the youth is that they are demotivated to do anything that does not hold meaning or importance to them. In such a scenario the main thing that motivates them is a feeling to outsmart others, or be better than others. So I believe that rivalry would be the strongest motivator for the youngsters to take on positions of authority in any field.

For us youngsters, the society that we grew up in, the culture around us, the books & movies of our age have inculcated a mindset of competition among us. The kind of attitude that motivates the youth & pushes them to achieve something roots from their need to prove somebody wrong or out best someone. We have innumerable examples of this around us. We see that industry leaders like Ghazal Alag, the CEO of MamaEarth, the newest shark on shark tank India, was faced with a new idea & the need to prove herself & challenge herself to be better than others which resulted in her starting her own company. Sportsmen like Virat Kohli, when challenged with the best rival sportsmen end up showing giving their best performance.

Yes, a good collaborative environment is important for growth, but as the saying goes, keep your friends close & your enemies closer. Because your friends show you your strengths, but your enemies play at your weaknesses & that is how you end up fixing them & becoming stronger. In the movies Mission Mangal, Rakesh Dhawan & his team of youngsters are continuously demotivated by Rupert Desai who is from Nasa & believes their efforts to build a Mars Orbiter to be frugal. But they only get motivated by this rivalry & in the process of proving him wrong end up putting their brains to work & getting the most creative & innovative ideas, that too on a limited budget. In the end Rakesh thanks Rupert for the strong rivalry he provided , which helped them in out besting themselves & becoming leaders & an example for the world.

Looking at these examples, we can conclude that the youth these days needs a tough competitor to overcome their own shortcomings & becoming their best version. Nothing like a healthy rivalry to encourage you to get on top of your game & emerge as a world leader.