Unfortunately in contemporary society creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image

The prompt urges that the importance of the appearance of an image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image in contemporary society. I mostly agree with this claim and will elaborate on the necessary points to defend my position.

To begin with, it is more important to sell the image than it is to truly represent the true meaning behind something. For example, movies that have been created after the success of a book or novel series often times don't fully convey the message that the original content is trying to send out. Take for instance the Harry Potter movies that were released after the books took the world by storm. Many of the true fans were upset with how Hollywood changed the narrative of the original story. This goes to show that selling tickets at the movie theaters was more important than the reality of what actually happened in the story.

To expand on the point, aside from Harry Potter movies, many other movies have been made based on real stories. Movies have been made about what happened during previous war times such as Top Gun. In this film, we see a representation of what occurred at Pearl Harbor in Hawaii. A study from Stanford revealed that majority of the action in these films based on real events are exaggerated and do not truly mirror what actually happened in the past. This is important because many people will be left with a misunderstanding about the actual history of the event. This just goes to show that the importance of an appealing image is more important that representing the reality behind the image.

On the other hand, in contrast to my position, several documentary films on historical events focus more on the actual reality that occurred rather than selling the image for a profit. Take for instance all of the National Geographic movies that have been made on the Ice Age and how wildlife has survived over the thousands of years. However, even though these films intend on presenting the audience with the most realistic image of what happened, they cannot show us exactly what happened if it wasn't recorded. Thus, it is imperative that these documentaries be taken with a grain of salt and individuals realize that it can't possibly truly represent what actually happened without presenting proper documentation of the event.

Nevertheless, although it is true that documentary films can't give us the exact footage, for the reasons that I have described in detail above, it is unfortunate that contemporary society prioritizes creating an appealing images over truly representing the actual reality behind those images.