The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead

The prompt suggests that the best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead. I mostly agree with this claim and will elaborate on the necessary points to defend my claim.

Firstly, the most effective leaders consider the positive and negative feedback from those whom they lead. Take for instance a manager at a business who asks his employees for feedback about how things are being ran currently. The manager could gain helpful insight from his employees about what aspects of the job they enjoyed and the other parts of the job they disliked. The feedback that he or she recieves could help managment decide if they want to continue running things the way things are or if some changes need to occur in order to make things run smoother. This will help keep the employees happy and could improve the productivity of the business.

To expand on the point, let's say that this business is a commercial gym and the employees are personal trainers. The personal trainers are giving negative feedback about how tracking their clients' workouts on paper is ineffective. This would open up a discussion about how it could be more effective if it were logged through a phone application. The manager could then bring up the subject matter to corporate and bring this to fruition. In turn, this makes both the clients and the employees happier and increases the gym's profit. A Harvard study showed that the more clients engaged with these fitness training phone applications, they are more likely to stay adherent to training.

Although, in contrast to my position, it is true that it is possible to lead in the most effective way possible without encouraging feedback from those that they lead. An example of this would be a well-experience leader of a military bootcamp. If the bootcamp leader encouraged feedback from the people whom they lead, many of them would complain about how things are ran and how things should be ran differently. Feedback from soldiers being trained is fight in war is often not encouraged, and could even be punishable. A study from Harvard in the 1970's revealed that 95% of the participants of military bootcamps were afraid to give anything other than positive feedback to those in command. However, if the bootcamp participants could submit anonymous feedback to their leaders without fear of retaliation, it could change the way things are done.