In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The prompt suggests that the power of imagination surpasses that of knowledge. While imagination is the mind's paradise, a world engendered by one's own pace of thought, knowledge is more of an acquired ability. The requirement of either trait differs in value from proffession to proffession but the necessity of both is inevitable. it may be more important for a painter to be imaginative given the nature of his craft. Similarly a historian may have to rely heavily on knowledge he has gathered from resources over the years. To succeed in any field of work, one must be both imaginative and knowlegable, but which side of the scale he adds more weight to is dependent on the kind of work.

A knowledgable man has an upperhand in any sphere of life. As they say "only if you know, you yield". Contrary to popular notion, knowledge is not limited to the books we read to pass our exams or lectures we endure at university. it's a vast ocean of unending resourses that include experiences and exposure in abundance. this is beautifully expressed in the industrial internships that most academic instituite promote. The ideas, theories, concepts and more that the student studies about in his academic period, all seem to come to life when he learns the application of it all during his internship. Not only does this broaden his knowledge base, but alsoopens up broad avenues of exploration. knowledge is nothing but the foundation on which experiences, innovations and infact, imagination is built.

Though the power of imagination is supreme and turns out to be the birthing factor for innovations in most field, it is bolstered by the basic theories and concepts. consider an artist paints a visual of his interpretation of the space, what turns out to the most beautiful painting of the century. would he have been able to bring this creative thought of his to life had he not had the knowledge of outer space, however minute? Or would his work of art be considered as artful that the brush strokes and color palletes not been that nuanced? imagination of any form results from the person's knowledge base. only if one knows about something can he start his thought process from there.

To be triumphant in any field of endeavour it is necessary that one is both imaginative and knowledgable. having gathered knowledge and understood the ideas and theories in depth can one proceed further. it isn't possible for a designer to come up with her breakthrough creation if she does not know or understand fabric combination or color coordination best. imagination is not a lone traveller. it walks hand in hand with knowledge. knowledge on the other hand,can go further and beyond its abilities only when the power of imagination drives it through.