A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

School curriculum can contribute massively to the rate of betterment of a nation. While some may argue that it is beneficial for students to study the same curriculum until they reach college, it is clear that students, when given the choice to select their own courses and study what they like, will benefit a nation more.

Consider the case of Elon Musk, an accomplished engineer and scientist. If his school had persuaded him to study the history of art and had included sports as a mandatory subject while he was at school, he probably would not have become a great inventor that he is today. He would not have found time to pursue his passion for mathematics and science, and would instead have been forced to spend a lot of time studying subjects that he didn't like. If a student doesn't have interest in some subjects that are being taught, they shouldn't be forced upon her, since she will lose motivation to study and might even drop out of school.

In forcing a national curriculum, there is huge flaw that is hard to overcome. Let us take the example of India. India has two political parties, the BJP and the INC. If BJP comes to power, they might include the study of the Hindu texts in the curriculum, whereas after a few years if INC becomes the ruling party, they might revert this and include the mandatory teaching of Muslim texts. Such a varying curriculum, which is contingent upon the whim of the current ruling party in the Government, will make it hard to standardise evaluation of students with each passing year.

Finally, the workforce of a nation is renewed annually with each graduating batch of students. A large portion of this workforce comprises of students who choose not to attend college and start with their first job. When students are made to study material that is irrelevant to the industry which they will be joining, there will be a hit on the economy. More money and time will need to be spent in training these students to get them ready for the job. If they are given the option to study the materials that are relevant to their future career - for example, introducing skill-based courses in the curriculum, millions of dollars can be saved.

In conclusion, it can be asserted that while it is the duty of the nation to provide affordable and well-thought out education for students, it is also its duty to ensure they have the opportunity to pursue the career of their choice by giving them the option to decide what they want to study.