A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Uniformity is a major factor that influences change in a society. It makes it easy to detect anomalies in the progression of activities in a country. This national policy to unify the national curriculum of pre-college academic institutions is plausible for numerous reasons; majorly because it promises significant advantages to the quality of academic learning. I believe this is a step in the right direction.

Essentially, requiring all students to study from the same national curriculum unifies the knowledge disseminated in schools. This ensures that the flow and quality of knowledge and skills to students is strictly monitored and regulated. I believe that this policy ensures that all students in a nation have the same basic level of knowledge to function efficiently in the society. For instance, implementing a national curriculum on history ensures that all high school graduates have a unified level of understanding of the history of the nation. This uniformity can further assure the quality of historical knowledge of High School students.

With a unified curriculum, it is easier to trace and identify areas of knowledge deficits in students. it would also be instrumental in helping the national education board to identify academic institutions that have sub-quality and ineffective teaching methods. A high school whose graduates are generally observed to be weak in algebra, on getting to college, can be easily identified and corrective measures can be implemented immediately. Requiring all students to study the same provides an efficient means to monitor hidden areas where schools need to improve upon their teaching techniques.

However, this policy requires in-depth research and analysis by the National Educational Board because a deficit from the construction of the curriculum would have a widespread impact on the knowledge level of students. It would also be easier to identify such areas of deficit and modify them to improve the curriculum compared to different High Schools that have varying curricula. This policy shows significant and rapid damage control potential.

In conclusion, this policy that requires all students to be taught with the same curriculum poses significant benefit to the quality of education mostly because of the uniformity in the level of academic knowledge of students.