A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Knowledge acquired by students through school forms the fundamental building block in every student's educational career. Therefore it is imperative this building block of each and every student is the same. Thus I agree with the recommendation that there should be standardized national curriculum that must be followed by nations' schools. I hold this opinion because I feel that it is the only way to prevent students from getting an undue advantage or anyone from being left behind.

To begin with, if there are different curricula followed throughout a country, it is obvious that some of them will be easier whereas the others will be harder. This will prevent uniformity and some students will get an unfair benefit. For example, the ones who have an easy curriculum will most likely find school studies easy, but when they get into college, they may find it impossible to cope up with the students of the schools who have had high quality education in school days. This will cause them to fall behind in their college studies, just because their school curriculum never taught them all the things that their peers from other schools with a more challenging curriculum learnt. In order to prevent this bias, all schools must follow the same national curriculum.

Secondly, having a different sets of curricula may cause a divide among the students of the society. For instance, a set of students who have gone to schools with more competitive curriculum may start to look down upon those who haven’t. This division may intensify later through the college, causing a section of students to permanently marginalized and flouted. However following a common national curriculum will prevent this by giving everyone a fair chance at reaching the top and prevent the creation of a balkanized society among the youth. Also it will cause the schools with high quality curricula to hike up their fees, knowing they are in demand. Thus the poor, non-affording students will be permanently left out of receiving this education, further widening the gap in the rich and the poor.

While it’s true that having a standardized national curriculum will cause the students who have learning disabilities or the other not very intelligent ones, to be exposed to curriculum which they may find too overwhelming. And they may not even have any other option to shift to, since a single curriculum has been adopted nationwide. But such students can be provided extra classes and tutors by the schools, so as to help them overcome their problems with studies. If that does not work, there is always an option of schools that are designed especially for students with learning disabilities.

Thus, in order to prevent any student or groups of students from getting an unfair advantage in college, only because of the kind of curriculum adopted by the school they studied in and to prevent creation of a society that is divided due to this reason, I feel that it is necessary that all schools in a country must adopt a standardized national curriculum for their schools to follow. This will create a disinterested and fair environment for all the students when they enter college.