A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

I don't completely agree with the recommendation. I think although that most of the students should take the same curriculum, there are some talented students that need special courses to help them develop their extraordinary skills.

First, there is some basic knowledge that every student should acquire no matter where they are from. By provideing a national curriculum, we can make sure that every student in the nation have the ability to deal with some basic problems that they might face in their lives. For example, everyone should know how to do some basic calculations. Otherwise, they can't even know how much money they should pay for products they purchased. For another example, they should also have the ability to read and write with the major language of the nation. If they fail to do so, they can't even communicate with others and express their feelings and thoughts. Also, the same curriculum can provide a same starting point for all students, ensuring the equality across different areas of the nation.

Second, for any policies, cost is an important factor to be considered. By regulating every school to provide the same curriculum, the government can reduce the spending on education. If every school in the nation has its own curriculum, it needs to find the suitable teacher for every subject it wants to provide. For example, schools in the rural area would also need to hire teachers for every specific domain, which could be a burden for the government in the countryside. However, if all schools use the same national curriculum, we might be able to reduce the cost. For example, we can use remote education with the help of techonology. Therefore, we only need to hire a few teachers but they can teach the same subjects to students in many different regions at the same time.

Yet, not every student is suitable for the same curriculum. There are some talented students that need the government to provide special courses in order to develop their skills. For example, some students perform much better in math than the others. These students should not be treated as the normal kids. Instead, they should be able to take the advanced courses such as linear algebra or calculus for the sake of developing the experts of the next generation. For another example, a small portion of kids are talented in drawing. The government should have a special school of arts that teach them how to improve their skills. By doing so, the nation could have more specialists consistently.

To conclude, althogh I think that a national curriculum could benefit the nation, I don't completely agree with the recommendation that the same curriculum should be applied to all students. Instead, I think that there are some talented students that need to take some professional courses to improve their skills.