A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The author states that all students in the country must study a common national curriculum until they enter

college. While this statement does have it's merits, I somewhat disagree with this idea. Providing the same curriculum

for all students might have it's advantages, but the problems that come with it will be far greater than the advantages.

If all students study the same national curriculum until they enter college, it would mean that every student

has a level playing field. Everyone studies the same curriculum and hence have the same knowledge. So when a student

enters college, he or she does not start behind another student who studied a different curriculum. This gives every

student an equal chance of succeeding at college. Also, a national curriculum might be more suited to instill patriotism

and a sense of unity among students than different curriculums for different states or regions would.

While this idea does sound good, it comes with a few major drawbacks. Every student in the national curriculum

is exposed to the same content. But the students belong to different areas and different cultures. A national curriculum

might now teach the students much about the state or the city they belong to. Because of this, a student living in a

particular part of the country may never get to learn about the history, the geography and the social conditions in his

or her state in detail. This may leave the student completely unprepared for the challenges that he or she has to face

growing up in that area.

Another problem with a national curriulum is that the parents ofmstudents would have lesser control over what

their child studies. Whereas in a state curriculum, for example, if a parent voices his or her conern, there is a greater

chance that his or her voice will be heard. The parents coming together and deciding, to some extent, what their children

should learn would improve the quality of education given to the students as these parents understand what tools the children

might need to succeed in this day and age. On the other hand such regulation of content might need to go through a number of

committees and institutions which would take a lot of time.

Also, the institution that would decide the curriculum has all the power. It would be very difficult to judge whether

the curriculum decided by the institution is suitable for students all around the country and is upto the standards that the

colleges around the country and the world require.

In conclusion, while a national curriculum has it's obvious advantages- like creating a sense of equality among the

students, giving everyone an equal chance to succeed regardless of their social status- the negatives outweigh the positives.

The students' lack of understanding of the culture, the social conditions of their region seriously impedes their growth and

leaves them unprepared for the challenges they are likely to face in the future. The regulation of content in the curriculum

becomes more difficult and increases the challenges the students face. So it becomes vital to consider the merits and the

demerits of this decision.