A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.

Recent discussion on the need for students in elementary and high schools to have a uniform curriculum has somewhat gained traction. The acceptance is in part to certain people's belief that a unified system at those levels provides far more benefits. However, I mostly disagree with this perspective for two reasons that I will discuss in the writeup. Nevertheless, I do concede that there are exceptions, and situations where such curriculum is favorable.

To begin, education curriculum is beneficial when need-based, i.e., structured to cater for the demography. Over-generalization of concepts without paying particular attention to the peculiarities of different localities will pose more harm than good. For example, the academic courses in an industrialized region being the same with that of a rustic environment does not portend benefits for students in deciding what comes next after, say, high school. A pastoral area may favor agrarian inclination. while a metropolitan region will be best served with technological leanings.

In addition, acquiring knowledge with the needs of the locale in mind will help in proffering solutions to endemic problems.

Moreover, a curriculum that is not generalized provides an avenue for eclectic erudition. By differing the interest of the students from an early stage, they will grow to specialize in various fields, thereby creating diversity in knowledge. For instance, learning science and technology from high school will be a springboard for students inclined to those areas of knowledge and integrating or compounding such in a higher learning institution will become easier.

On the other hand, a standardized system presents a good argument to a degree. Given that a nation may have general needs and outlook at the federal level, every student having a similar educational foundation seems valid in such sense.

In conclusion, a curriculum, while majorly tailored to the locale of the students should also contain certain generalized or common knowledge to a reasonable extent.