A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The students of a nation are one of the most important resources of a nation. The rule makers of a nation can work day and night to improve the status of education in that nation. The prompt suggests that a nation must mandate its students to pursue the same national curriculum until they enter college. I mostly agree with the prompt for two reasons, which I will elucidate below. However, I do concede that in some scenario, forcing students to study the same set of courses may not be beneficial.

First of all, a compulsory national curriculum will provide a fair and equal provision for conducting college admit examinations. In such a case, no student can complain regarding difference in difficulty levels of different courses. The same subjects and their content will be taught to all the students of the national curriculum. All of them will be taking the same examination as well and facing the same single competition for the examination. If they were different curriculum for students, there will be different groups of test takers, and the competition in each group may not be the same. In such a situation, compilation of test results will also be a Herculean task. A national curriculum will thus help a nation in a fair and common evaluation of students, thus eliminating biases in college admits due to various curriculum.

Second of all, a curriculum fixed by a nation for all of its students will comprise of all of the subjects and courses that will most likely be useful in life. If there were stream oriented curriculum before entering college, a science focused student will not have much knowlege regarding social sciences and vice-versa. The national curriculum will be designed in order to prepare a student to face any challenge in life, deal with any problem from any domain. Moreover, college curriculum is designed in order of gain expertise in a particular domain. If there is no standard national curriculum before college, then the sole purpose of college education will be rendered null and void. The knowledge of different domains, before entering college, will reduce the chances that a science oriented students does not understand the political and social circumstances prevailing in the nation.

However, I do concede that forcing students to study one same national curriculum can be lead to discomfort and difficulties for some students. Not all students are the same, some of them are prodigies, that can be profoundly interested in a particular domain. For instance, a science prodigy may not be interested in political and social sciences. Forcing them to study those subjects, will be a burden for that student. He or she might not perform well in social sciences, despite being at the top of the class in science. This will lead to a mediocre aggregate performance, which can foil the student's aspiration to get a good college admit.

Thus, I mostly agree that a nation should mandate its students to study the same national curriculum for the above stated reasons. But, in a few circumstances doing so, might not be in the best interest of the student as well as the country.