The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century old tradition of all female education and begin admitting men Pointing to other all female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducatio

In the recommendation, the president and administrative staff of Grove College suggest that Grove College should continue its century-old tradition of all-female education and should not allow entry of men into its programs. Their assertion is based on the results of a student and alumnae survey. While the suggested recommendation might be true, three questions must be answered, which if not answered will dramatically reduce the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, was the survey conducted among students in a scientific manner? It might be possisble that the respondents of the survey are not an effective representation of the students in Grove College. It might be possible that the survey was limited only to students who are champions of feminism and want the all-female education to continue. Perhaps, the number of students responding to the survey is quite less as compared to the strength of Grove College. If this is true, then the 80 percent figure will be less in quantity and the results of the survey cannot be trusted. If either of these circumstances is true, the arguments of the president and the staff does not hold water.

Second of all, do the alumnae, who responded to the survey, contribute significantly towards the alumnae funding. It might be possile that the alumnae who responded to the survey and opposed the introduction of co-education, do not contribute to the funds and it is only a few of the alumnae who donate majorly towards the fund. It might also be the case that the reach of the survey was limited and only a few of Grove College's alumnae, who came acros the survey, responded to the survey. If such cases turn out to be true, the funding received from alumane is not compromised and the contention of the president and administrative staff is invalid.

Last of all, will the continuation of all-girls education in Grove College contribute towards improving the morale of the students? It might be possible that the students of Grove College face difficulty in their jobs after graduation since they do not have the experience of working and collaborating in a male-female environment. It may also be possible that many firms do not participate in job fairs at Grove College because they find Grove College graduates not well prepared for industry because of the lack of male in the college environment. If such circumstances are true, then the tradition is not beneficial for the students and thus the contention of the president and the staff is unwarranted.

While it might be true that preserving the all-female education tradition in Grove College will be beneficial, the president and the administrative staff should answer the following questions so as to bolster the credibility of their argument : whether the student survey is a true representative of the opinions of the students, whether the alumae opposing co-education contribute significantly towards the alumnae funds and whether the all-female eduaction is salutary for the students of Grove College.