In business education and government it is always appropriate to remain skeptical of new leaders until those leaders show that they are worthy of trust Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim In devel

Change, an essential phenomenon in human society, is opposed by a contrary saying "old is good". Thus, introduction of changes or new things or entities in the society has always been a tough time for mankind. The prompt suggests that in business, education and government, people should remain skeptical of new people and should continue to do so until those leaders prove their mettle. I mostly agree with the suggestion for two reasons which I will elucidate below. However, I do concede that in certain circumstances, the suggestion provided by the prompt is not very useful.

To begin with, being skeptical towards leaders initially, provides the people a better way to assess the merits and demerits of the leaders. Conclusions based on a short amount of observations can be deleterious. The true nature of the leaders may not be revealed in a short time if people start believing in them quickly. For example, whenever a ground breaking theory in any field of education comes out, it is met with obstruction from many scholars of that field. It is only after robust testing of the theory that the people begin to trust its validity and also the scholar who put forward the theory. Whenever a prediction of an investment pundit turns true, seasoned traders and investment bankers are initially doubtful about the reliability of the prediction, whether it was a reasoned prediction or just a random guess. Only after checking more predictions of the guru , do people begin investing as per his advice. Thus, showing hesitation towards a new figure in such fields, can prevent one from committing mistakes.

Second of all, change in leaders mostly occurs when the people are not satisfied by the current leaders. For example, people, angry at the inflation and reduction in the number of employment opportunities, might put a government out of power, thus deeming the requirement of a new leader and a government. It may happen that students are not satisfied by the quality of education provided by a teacher and want a new teacher to conduct the classes. In either case, there is a possibility of high expectations from those who have newly been introduced into the equation. If the people or the students are not careful initially in evaluating the new leader or teacher respectively, then there is a chance that the newly appointed will not care to ameliorate the condition of the people and will only increase the already high dissatisfaction in the people. This will not solve the problem of the people.

However, the action of people, not establishing faith in the newly appointed leaders might hurt the feelings of the leaders. They might not get the motivation to work harder and effectively for the well being of the people. This in itself is a bad omen for the field concerning the leader and eventually for the human society. A newly elected government might become prone to venality. The newly appointed teacher might not be putting all of his dedication in order to convey the knowledge to his students. Thus, in such circumstances, believing and having confidence in the leaders will be much better for the people.

Thus, I mostly agree with the prompt that people should remain sceptical of new leaders until the leaders prove that they are worthy of the people's trust. However, I do concede that in some cases the suggestion might not be helpful.