The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent During the same year Omni showed a significant

In the memorandum, the president of Humana University asserts that Humana University should introduce online courses, similar to Omni University, so as to increase their admission numbers and solve the problem of budget deficits. The president's contention might be true, but it rests on three unstated assumptions, which if not clarrified will dramatically reduce the persuasiveness of the argument.

First of all, the president assumes that Humana University and Onmi University are comparable to one another. It might be the case that the quality of courses offered by Omni University are excellent, which in turn has lead to the increased number of admissions. The president assumes that Humana University can also offer online courses which equally good in quality. Even if Humana University is able to match the course quality, it might be possible that Omni University offers some courses based on specialised domains, which is attracting the crowd of students and that Humana University lacks the faculty to introduce similar courses. Thus, if either of these circumstance is true, then the president's claim does not hold water.

Second of all, the president assumes that introduction of online courses will result in reduced expenses. It might be possible that the expenses for introducing online courses exceeds the expenses saved on dormitory and classroom space and thus requires more funds than the existing medium of classes. It might also be possible that in addition to these expenses, Humana University needs to invest a large sum of money in advertisement of the new online courses. If such cases are true, then Humana University will not be able to solve its budget deficit problems and the president's arguement is thus unwarranted.

Last of all, the president assumes that the current trends at Omni University over the last one year will also continue in the future. It might be possible that due to the current pandemic scenario the popularity of online courses has increased, but in the near future as things get back to normal, students will flock towards offline medium of classes. It might also be possible that the high admission trends and reduced expenses at Omni University are observed because of less options of online courses available to the students. Once more Universities adopt online classes, the anomalous trends at Omni University will be back to the old ones. Thus, if the model of online courses fails in the recent future, then the mentioned benefits from the model cannot be availed by Humana University. In this case, the president's contention is invalid.

Thus, it might be true that the introduction of online courses at Humana University will solve the existing problems. But, as it stands now, the president's claim is based on three unwarranted assumptions. In order to increase the persuasiveness of the argument, the president must give clarrifications on those three fronts.