“A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.”

The Author suggests that until a pupil is in college they should be exposed to the same curriculum if they belong to the same nation. I do not completely agree with this claim for many reasons, cultural, socio-economic, pertaining to abatement of individual growth and the growth of the nation.

Every country is divided into regions for administrative purposes because it makes it easier to rule on the grounds that each of these regions have some fundamental differences and laws for one might just not be suitable for another. The same goes to education. One standard curriculum until college will prevent students from particular regions from learning about cultures that exist only in their region. Say history chapters of a region teach about the ancient tribes that lived there before and now though they're a minority it's important to be sensitive to those. How would such sensitivity be inculcated in the students if they never learn about them?

In addition every region of a nation has its own socio-economic needs and problems. Every locatlity for that matter may have different issues. Curriculums of private schools tend to include courses that help increase awareness or at least right now have the freedom to do so making students into more responsible citizens. Elective subjects offered in school help each student pursue his interests and learn in the direction suitable for him individually. A standard national curriculum will also gurantee that when students enter college they're all cut from the same cloth. The diversity of ideas that we so dearly value when seeking admissions in college would, if not lost, be severely diminished. This will inturn hurt the future of most academic as well as creative industries as major shaping of the human mind happens during formative years.

Having a diverse curriculum does have it's own benefits in terms of thought processes, social sensitivity and even finding out who a person is as an individual although if a standard core curriculum is proposed it will ensure that students still have the competitive knowledge they requre to succeed in today's world. Some subjects like English, Maths and Science could have a standard nationwide curriculum and others could be left on regional or small groups to decide on for better overall development of students before they enter college.

In summation, a standard core curriculum can be seen to benefit the growth of the students and as a result of the nation as a whole but the author's claim of having the same curriculum until college could prove deterrent to the nations minds and it's progress in the long run.