A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Standardization of syllabus in primary and secondary school is a contentious topic for a long time. The education boards which have followed a national curriculum have observed benefits in leaps and bounds. One advantage is that if a student's parent gets transferred to a new city for a job then no matter which place of the country they go their children can continue to pick up from exactly where he left. The teachers do not have to put in extra efforts for that particular student to bring him parallel to the current syllabus as it is the same syllabus which was followed in his previous school. Another plus point of keeping a national curriculum in schools it that it makes competition in colleges fair and square as everyone is on the same page and it will never be observed that one student says that a particular subject was taught to him in school while others say it was never covered in their school.

But as every coin has two sides and both sides has its own significance, a school which is following their own syllabus is much more flexible to incorporate changes in the curriculum according to the yearly results. If a subject is seen as very easy or very complex and requires a change, then since it is not bound to follow a national curriculum it can bring about a desired change for that particular subject rather than suggesting that change and waiting for the decision to be taken by national bodies responsible for creating syllabus in schools.

Overall we can say that following a national curriculum is something which should be done in all schools but the decisions such as change of syllabus, bringing in new technical/managerial subjects or removing of certain topics in a course is taken actively without procrastination by the team responsible.This will ensure that schools will not get an unfair advantage to bring a change in the curriculum according to their benefits and the level of competition when a student is joining a college remains head to head.