The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The point that leadership requires a sense of cooperation rather than competition is a contentious one. As per the saying 'Leaders are born ,not made', it is quite obvious that leaders do have a sense of cooperation instilled in them and the competition adds to their talent. But before jumping to any conclusions whether for young people to become good leaders require more of cooperation or competition let us look at both the aspects in detail.

Today's world is a modern world. The competition is at its peak irrespective of the field one is in. The young generation is caught in the cobwebs of competing against one another in order to gain an upper hand in the society. This is truely an unavoidable situation. Strss and strain, hurry and worry are the hallmarks of life now, and in such situations if you are not competitive enough what can you do just by cooperation.

By the above mentioned I am not stating that cooperation does not play a role in forming of leaders in the society, but solely cooperation and no sense of competition can never help in all round development of an individual.In politics, one can never win an election without competitng enthusiastically with others vying. Suppose a person works in IT industry, and he has worked much harder than his colleague of same batch, but his colleague gets promoted first. Now there are two options , either he can be more cooperative and say its all right he can get promotion next time or he can be more competitive and talk to HR's regarding this matter and fight for a better result. A manager needs to be cooperative with its team but at the same time if he is not competitive enough with other manager his team will nevwe progress.

Let us see some more examples supporting why competition dominates over cooperation. Suppose a twin is born in a family, and both of them feel hungry at the same time, then one of the child cries for food and parents give that child food .Now the second child can either cooperate with the parents and stay hungry or cry and compete for food too. This is a simple example which prooves that competition is something which one developes right from childhood. A society wants a leader to be competitive at the same time having sense of cooperation instilled in them.Thus to conclude to be a leader in any society competition is a must and cooperation should go hand in hand wherever necessary.