A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

In today's modern world the number of crimes have increased in leaps in bounds. Stress and strain, hurry and worry have become hallmarks of our lives forcing us to commit felony knowingly or unknowingly. The one who is accomplice in it is equally responsible and should be punished. But according to me it is not the crime that matters but the degree of crime matters. A crime can range from stealing a pen to kidnapping or murdering someone. The issue that a person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract ans should not retain any civil rights or right to benefit from his or her own labour is a contentious one.

The first and the foremost question which should be kept in mind when taking a decision to withdraw any kind of civil rights or any other kind of rights for that matter, is that what is the impact of the crime committed. As discussed earlier if a person has stolen a pen it does not lead to any lose to any individual rather than the one whose pen is stolen. In this case civil rights should not come into picture as the matter can be solved within them. Yes but a case of female exploitations or rapes is such a crime which breaks all social barriers and in this case all civil rights and right to benefit should be taken away from the one accused.

The government plays a major role in the issue discussed above. Suppose a person is accused of murdering someone and the laws of government states that he should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his own labour,this will definitely help reduce the number of murders as compared to a ten years sentence in jail. Same is applicable for crimes like rapes, bomb-blasts and anything which leads to mass killing.

So it all boils down to the fact retaining or detaining civil rights is completely dependent on the degree of crime and there must be a clear indication or criteria as to why this decision is taken based on different crimes.