A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

There has been a rise in the support for uniform national curriculum over the past years. While it is true that, the current system of different curriculum provides more flexiibility to the parents, to choose the curriculum in accordance with the needs of their wards and their resource constraint(good curriculum schools such as CBSE, ICSE board are way more costly than state boards), this system is not devoid of flaws. The primary flaw being that such curriculum differences make comparing students for college admissions difficult. In this passage we outline why we support a unified curriculum policy.

To further illustrate this point, lets take an example of Delhi university in India, which admits sttudents on the basis of their high school performance. So, the primary requirement for entering such colleges is high scores. But some state boards like maharashtra and bihar board are notoriously famous for giving students low mark, whereas tamilnadu board is known to be more generous ith marks. often the highest marks in maharashta board fail to meet the cutoff requirements, which explains the high incidence of tamil board students compared to other state boards in Delhi university. But these students are often subjected to a less rigorous curriculum and often fail to cope up with the rigour of the college, which calls for a uniform curriculum requirement for the students.

While the above argument could also point a flaw at incorrect testing requirement for entering college, i.e. a standardised test could be the criteria than high school performance, but that does not ddress the primary problems of differences in knowledge owing to diffrerent curriculum. A uniform curriculum can also help ensure that students across the nation are subjected to the same standards and are provided equal footing in some sense. A uniform curriculum with a little flexibility say for example in language subjects, which are often a source of criticism against uniform national curriculum, could ensure that children are comparable while entering the college, and do not miss out on entering college just because they do not have enough resources to get into a good curriculum for their schooling.

A competitive world where people are allowed to make the school curriculum choices for their kids based on their needs and resources could in theory prove to better than the restrictive uniform national curriculum, but in practice this flexibility often results in a very varied curriculum for students, and also could lead to providing them substandard skills in comparison to college requirements. one way out could be to institute a common test pre-college enrollment to judge students, while such a system has a merit towards pushing curriculums to unify in accoradance with the needs of the said test, such a system could be very costly, so a common curriculum with some flexibility is desirable