"A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer."

Education is now exponentially at the forefront of policy making and voters’ concern. It is indeed a pillar of growth and advancement in each and every nation. Some argue it should be standardized to provide comprehensive and targeted knowledge to youngsters and others argue for diversity and a certain flexibility to encourage creative minds to follow their interests. It is absolutely counterintuitive to force the youth of a country to follow the same path. After all, a country is in need of a wide range of professional qualifications to advance culturally and economically. Second, granting choice of specialization offers a peace of mind to young generations knowing that they can pick a path they feel more comfortable in. Finally, a growing number of politicians might argue that the country knows how to educate its citizens by putting in place comprehensive programs and curriculums. However, these programs only serve to subvert creativity and originality.

Each country is in need of different qualifications to function. It needs physicians, biologists, business savvy people and so on. If the government puts in place one standardized education model for everyone, there is no way for the young student to aspire to be a physician or a mechanical engineer. If students get to pick their paths, with the right encouragement and advising, they will be sure to make the right choice and the country will end up with diversified groups of graduates who can serve their countries in their respective fields. However, if the cursus is forced upon a student, his choice might not be wise and accurate.

Also, most of us grew up hearing the saying “do what you love and you will never have to work a day in your life”. Which is true in this case. If a student is forced to follow a path because he or she did not have access to other subjects to get inspired for a potential career, the country might end up with miserable employees in jobs they never thought about doing, but because it was related to their standardized curriculum, they ended up there.

Moreover, imposing such standardized curriculums on young students subverts their creativity and originality of thought. How can a country produce great thinkers, researchers and inventors if students do not have a certain freedom of creativity and freedom of choice? Because after all, youngsters discover themselves in school and outside and most people end up knowing their forte early on in life. Even before entering college.

All in all, an imposed curriculum only harms the happiness, creativity and diversity of the workforce. If citizens are given more freedom of choice they might end up doing what they think they excel in, and not what they have to do to get a decent salary.