There is no need for newspapers in modern world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advent of technology, the popularity of newspapers, magazines and hardcopies have taken a serious hit. The author’s claim that there is no need for newspapers has, I belive credibility to it considering the recent developments in the field of science.

Firstly, I believe that printing newspapers requires a tremendous amount of manual labour and raw materials. In addition to this, they have to be printed in copious amounts, delivered to each and every home each by a different set of people. Paper and ink are consumed in raft quantities and this adds the extra burden of taking proper care in disposing the same. This adds to the problem of deforestation and that is something that is of major concern to the people.

Secondly, major news companies and agencies have themselves moved on to digitalizing information in the form of apps and in websites. This development allows us to read news anytime, anywhere with ease. News can now be read on our own handheld devices. Not only do digitalized information provide us with this comfort of keeping up to date with news but it allows us to ease us of the norm of waiting a full day before reading a newspaper o keep us abreast of the daily occurences in the world. Earlier, even during natural calamities when people had to be warned or when a major incident had occured such as the assasination of a person in a high position, radios were used as a quick source to spread the same.

Thirdly, once information has been digitalized it will never get lost and remains forever in memory. This is not the case with newspapers and magazines as they have to be maintained physically in libraries and may degrade causing a loss of highly valuable data. A recent development in this field arrived with the high use of ebooks and pdfs. Amazon launched Kindle which is one such development that facilitates people to have the same feeling they get when they read a hardcopy or a book. With the launch of Kindle, majority of the avid readers of novels have migrated to ebooks and have done away with handling books and newspapers.

Although one cannot trade the authenticity that comes from reading from a newspaper or from a book, the comfort one gets from reading news on the go is a much needed and much welcomed trade off. Adding to this issue is the fact that a major industry depends on printing and distribution of newspapers. This industry also employs a huge number of personnel. This afffects a considerable size of population rendering them jobless should the need for newspapers decrease.

To conclude, technology has provided us with numerous solutions for commonplace problems. Replacing newspapers with phones and novels with ebooks is one such solution that has been embraced by a majority of the population. Some people claim that the feeling they get from reading something out of a physical entity or the smell of a book newly bought is not comparable to reading out of a phone. This claim is partially true but in the long run environmental effects and comfort have to be kept in mind while making a decision regarding the need of newspapers.