A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Effective formation of human capital is essential for any country, so the question of stardards in eduaction often attract a lot of attention. Some people offer initiatives for introducing a national curriculum which will standatize learning experiences for all students in the country. However, others oppose such an idea. In my opinion, a standartized curriculum is likely to bring about more problems than benefits, and here I would like to address the main reasons that make me think so.

First of all, no student is the same. Everyone has special needs and interests, so it is beneficial for students to have an opportunity to choose a school which alignes best with their needs. For example, a lot of gifted students feel bored in the classes offering only basic materail, while average students may struggle with more advanced courses. This results in one of those groups losing the interest for studing, thus, it is likely to lead to poor educational results. One of the best solutions for this problem is introduction of specialized schools or advanced groups within the school. This system provides more stimulating environment for students willing and able to study at the advanced level while not hurting other students. However, a unified curriculum makes such a system impossible. The similar case can be done for the opportunity to choose specialization while in school. Not everyone needs to take extra physics classes, but some people do. Standartization is likely to lead to lower standards in education or classes excessively hard for most students.

Moreover, underpriviledged students are likely to suffer from such a policy. While students from middle class who have parents with higher education are likely to have opportunity to engage in extracurricular education, others may have neither funds nor parental encouragement to take additional classes. A school with a standartized curriculum is unlikely to match the interests of these students and encourage them to learn. Furthermore, even if they do want to study more, they may lack opportunities to take advanced classes or enhance their knowledge in the areas of their particular interest.

One may argue that the absence of common knowledge makes creation of educational programms for undergraduate level much more difficult. If students from different schools differ drastically in their level of preparation, University professors will struggle with making their classes both intesting and accessable for everyone. However, this problem can be solved with the introduction of some minimal standards. They should state the knowledge and skills that must be obtained by everyone, while leaving some freedom to schools in choosing extra material.

To sum up, I am convinced that introduction of the standartized national curriculum can never be a good initiative. Students have drastically different needs, and a study plan which meets demands of one student may be unsatistactory for everyone else. While certain standards are necessary to ensure the right functioning of Universities, the restrictions on extra material offered by schools should not be introduced.