A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer

Students study the same national curriculum before they entering college will make student fully prepared for every subjects in the college. In this degree, I agree that the student should study the same national curriculum. While studying the same curriculum may force some students learn courses that they are not interested in, student waste much time on the courses they don't like. Considering the efforts and the outcomes, I don't agree that the nation should force all students study the same curriculum.

First of all, the same national curriculum should at least include two aspects - sciences and arts. A student who has studied sciences and arts before college will have more knowledge over different majors. For example, if a student who likes programming, he/she cannot understanding what is the logic mean in programming when they start learning in college without learning related math courses in high school. In this circumstance, a obiligatory curriculum before college will help student to be fully prepared for the college studies.

Though study the same curriculum will make the students have more choices in college to choose their major, it wastes some students' more valuable years to study something they are not interested in. Since elementary students have already taken both sciences and arts classes, a middle school or high school student have some understanding of the difference between sciences and arts. They may show interest in one of them or both of them depend on individual preference. Besides, in some circumstance, they find out they have no interest in some subjects. Like myself, I don't like chemistry since middle school, but it is required by the national curriculum in my country. I spent days of time to read the chemistry books that I think is boring. During my four years of college life, I never use chemistry in my academic study.

A nation require all of its students to study the same national curriculum before they entering college is not reasonable. However, a nation should provide all kinds of courses for its students before they entering the college. In this way, a student will have fully understanding of their interested subjects before college. They will have a second chance to change their major before college. Let a student learn what they like is the purpose of education.

In short, instead of require all its students study the same national curriculum, a nation should provide all the curriculums that its students interested in.