A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

I agree with the statement to an extent when a standard curriculum of core subjects, is followed nationwide. some subjects, for instance, mathematics, science, for which, the core principles are defined and subjects which help the students in building their career further must be predefined and followed nationwide.

In some part of the world, differences of belief, culture also has an effect on learning. some countries make a compulsion of learning a native language while some want their young citizens to join the military. There are states where physical education is given the most importance. Teaching subjects like history will be difficult to define as a standardized curriculum because each country has their own history. Another difficult task would be to pre-define the curriculum of learning about one's own culture is, which is also more desired over other subjects in some parts of the world.

Furthermore, a flexible curriculum will be helpful for the child to be able to decide his/her plans. Factors like geographical regions, a political and economic status of one's own country, personal background, and how technology-advanced one's country is, also molds one's brain to into pursuing a particular field of study. In such cases, making strict syllabus will only demotivate the students.

In addition to this, the college or university the student goes to will also have prerequisites of subjects or skills, if the curriculum is so rigid that one cannot learn only the things necessary for one's further studies, it can be counted as a waste of time and efforts and energy.

In a nutshell, core subjects which are a must for anyone can be set as mandatory curriculum also the schools should have an authority to add more subjects as required.