Universities should accept equal numbers of men and women in every subject. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Selection process in educational institute based on gender equality is widely discussed topic. Gender equality is important in places where male and female are not considered equal however, education institutions are centers for teaching equality and abolishing discriminatory. In my opinion, universities should not have quota based on gender however, if universities are in developing countries where gender inequalities exist, they may consider having specific reservation for men and women.

The seat reservations at educational institute should be based upon merit performance and not on gender, religion or caste quota. These institutes teach us about hard work, to hone skills and so on, having quota system in such institutes contradict the ideology they are working on. There are several other ways to support equality between male and female i.e. by providing special training program, scholarships and other financial support.

In my view men and women should choose the course as per their individual capabilities and it should not be restricted with preferences based on genders. To ensure a better education system within the societies, the admission at universities should be done based on the student performance, intellect, and interest of students toward the subject. For example, if for a particular course in university, they have 100 seats, assuming they receive application for 60 men and 40 women. In such scenarios, 10 prospect male students would lose opportunity to pursue subject of their interest, if university follow equal number of student in each subject.

In conclusion, I would like to recommend men and women have their own strength and weaknesses. The university selection procedure should be based on merit however, an independent committee could be formed within universities to ensure that no discrimination based on gender is done during the students selection process.