A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer

The author recommends a uniform curriculum for all the students of a country. Whether the author's recommendation would be fruitful or not will highly depend on the host country. For instance, in a diverse country like India encompassing a vast number of languages, dialects and religions, the recommendations contended by the author would be highly restrictive; it would fail to account for the inherent diversity that makes almost each state in that country unique. Be that as it may, another issue to be pointed out is the inherent problem of choosing the correct curriculum. Reiterating the example of India, the enforcement of a single curriculum might at best cause unease amongst citizens and at worst, outright anarchy amongst the underrepresented minority. We must also take into account the concept of "home-schooling", where a child may be taught only the syllabus that his/her teacher deem important. The enforcement of a uniform curriculum would almost be anathema to the concept of home schooling. On the other hand, one must also take into account the various advantages that the national curriculum might provide. A uniform standard of evaluation of the students would make for a smoother college selection process. It might also help improve the pedagogue of certain backward areas by setting down uniform guidelines to help the teachers and students alike. Consequently, it would help improve the overall quality of education received by the students. Thus, the concerned authorities should take a balanced approach towards the execution of the idea. It would be pragmatic to conduct a poll/survey of the stakeholders vis-a-vis the students,teachers and other members of staff. Using the data of this survey, the authorities should decide if a uniform national curriculum is would be beneficial or not.