A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.

I fully disagree with the statement that a nation should require all of it's students to study the same national curriculum till they enter college.

I believe that every student should be allowed to follow his or her interests of study during all points of their academic career, and this is my primary motivation in taking the above mentioned position. We live in a free society, and if we are to ensure that every one is able to take advantage of the same, they need to have education of the right kind. This implies that they must be allowed to select what they want to study, and a national curriculum must not be enforced on them. For example, look at the case of a student who is keen on arts. While he needs to have fundamental knowledge of science and mathematics, there is no need for him to be taught the same till he enters college. The student will not be able to devote enough time to the topics of their interest, and they will fail to attain their best potential in the field. Had this extra time that was spent on science and mathematics been used in furthering his arts skills, he would have realized his potential better.

Another important reason for me to take my stand is the copious amount of resources that are spent on a student for teaching him subjects (or topics) that he would sparsely or never use. Eductional resources such are teachers, books and other materials are very expensive, and creating and devoting the same for students who would not make use of this knowledge is a waste of such resources. For example, look at the case of a student who is very keen on pursuing sports as his career interest. The hours spent in teaching him STEM subjects, or biology, or advanced high school language courses is not best utilized. This includes a wastage of teachers' time, which is better utilized on other students with matching career objectives, and the educational materials (including investments on preparing them). It is better to utilize sports resources to better equip him in the career path of his choice.

Mental conditioning is another important reason why I think having a common national curriculum till college is a poor idea. Students who are taught a particular set of materials is conditioned to think in a particular manner, reducing their horizon of thought and crippling their ability to express thoughts. This results in a society that can be controlled by the whims of particular sections or the government itself. Imagine a situation in which the ruling government decides to eliminate all material from the curriculum that goes against it's agenda. If all the students were learning this curriculum, they would all be conditioned to think in the manner the government wants to. This would lead to a crippled society where freedom of expression and free thoughts would have no value. Instead, if students were allowed to freely learn the topics of their interest, chances of such a situation happening can be drastically reduced.

I would like to conculde my reiterating my arguments. Restrictions on individual (student) freedom, resource wastage and possibility of mental conditioning with a negative intent are the reasons why all students of a nation should not be required to study the same curriculum till they enter college.