A nation should require all its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college rather than allow schools in different parts of the nation to determine which academic courses to offer.

The issue raises a controversy by claiming that the current education pattern must be replaced by a common national curriculum for all the schools in the country. I cede that the proposal will have many positive effects if applied; it provides an equal and fair competition to all the students in the country, inculcate values such as tolerance and respect for others upon which any democratic society depends. But, the positives are outweighed by the negatives. My essay will furnish reasoning and examples in support of my position.

A common curriculum will require strong scrutiny of the subjects and topics that are to be included or excluded and which will be rendered as an ideal learning material for the students. But on what basis can this be done is debatable. Secondly, who will have the ultimate authority to approve it? In today's world, different communities of students have different interests. Even if a dedicated council is appointed for this task, will their thinking reconcile with the expectations of all the students in the nation is questionable. The common curriculum will never be completely acceptable.

The basic purpose of education is 'enlightenment'. Students in their school days should be exposed to variegated subjects, internet to exploit their capabilities and liking. But this notion of a common curriculum will move in the opposite direction. The government may also disingenuously preclude certain topics, subjects or use of websites which may threaten their authority. Although this is a far stretched scenario, but these sorts of concerns are already being raised at the state level.

Also different states in the country have different traditional and cultural historical background significance which should be ideally introduced to the students, not atleast to the students from that state. For example, stories of freedom struggle, independence, enemy invasion and great leaders not only inspire students but are important to inculcate the qualities of secularism, respect for the tradition and culture and its preservation. Having a common curriculum will miss out on these aspects.

Finally, it may act as a double edged sword, on one side it tries to insure a literate, reasonable informed and productive members to a society and at the same time destroy the cultural tradition and diversity. Therefore, a curriculum must be flexible , be in the best interests of the students or else in the long run, the system will end up defeating it's own underlying purpose.