A nation should requires all of its student to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

At the first glance, a national curriculum might be a good idea. It would be ideal to conduct a program where students manage to acquire same level of knowledge and graduate with the same set of skills. However, the fact is that not every student is the same as every other student. Some may argue that an established national curriculum might save school districts from developing their own material. Other may argue for a different reasons that different states or provinces in a country might not all be able to afford material at the same cost. It is unfeasible to assume the commensurateness among every groups and individuals, unless they are willing to give up control over their own career path for a generalize education.

First and foremost, it is a onerous task to prepare for a national curriculum material wise. In developing regions such as Africa and South East Asia, there are countries with low GDP, where indigence is a bigger problem than buying book for school. A child might be forced on child labor at their very young age, from doing restaurant work, selling at a store to even physical labor work. A family does not simply make enough to have food day by day. A considerable amount of family in those countries could not afford education for the child. An average of a list of numbers close to zero is approximately zero, therefore a national curriculum of no education is not an option. On the other hand, it is superficial to assume that developed countries have their problem solved. In fact, developed countries face some of their own problem. In a country with diverse population such as the United States, people come from different culture and speak different languages. Immigrant culture might influence a place greater than other place. Therefore, finding a common ground among a wide range of population is burdensome, plus the financial and technical challenge up to support it adds up to impossible.

Secondly, not every student has the same level of understanding of a subject. Some of the cores subjects for general education purpose under college level are: math, literature, science and art. It is rare to see a student who excels in finding limits and integration, having lasting memories about geography, history, literary work and poem, and having a comprehensive understanding about the difference between Renaissance art and Medieval art, as well as producing art work by oneself. Not to say it is an impossible task, but one must spend a great amount of time studying and practicing a subject again and again to be able to perform, even greater if the subject does not come naturally. And there are a plethora of other social and career skills that parents hope their children could learn. Does a student have enough time to focus on school subject as well as elective program, and socialize and being healthy at the same time?

Last but not least, it is necessary to have a separate program for highschool students to facilitate better understanding and preparation for the specialized subject. Highschool is an important milestone of education for every child because it prepares for college. It is when students have a certain understanding of the world and ready to decide which career path they want to follow. Some career requires longer training period that others. For example, a computer science major requires 4 year education. However, a brutal fact is that technology accelerates leading to high level of competition in job industry. An outstanding GPA at school might lose to 1-2 year real industry experience with regular school performance on resume. By starting early, the student will have better edge at competing on the field. The same does not only apply for computer science but for nearly all other major. Specialized program helps tremendously on preparing students for the future, saving time and effort to decide to change a major before college instead of doing it during college.

In the end, promoting the educational well-being of our children is a laudable purpose. It is a bless to enjoy the alacrity and creativity of our children. Therefore, decision to develop one's child should be left for the parent/guardian, who cares for the child at heart.