In a nation there should be a common curriculum upto college.

Any nation in the world is a congregation of a people who are united by a similar thought/ideology which brings them on a common platform to form it as one entity.This idea forms the very basic nation states.This coming together of similar ideology-type of people (Which at the same time can be of a diverse ethnicity too e.g. Nations like the U.S.A.., India and the erstwhile U.S.S.R.and the list goes on) makes what we call a nation in the modern sense of the world we live in, hence it is- but natural that in any such setting we should go for a single unified common curriculum which corresponds to the generally held beliefs of the country.

Why would i think like that?, well for a moment if we disagree with this proposition of mine, can we imagine living in a country where curriculum for a basic but a very foundational subjects like History/Geography/Civic sensibilities in not same throughout its geography how would the populace of such a country reconcile to such a difference in the subjects which are so foundational to their state of being. Can we imagine living in a country where people from one state have a completely anachronistic view of History in comparison to the people wouldn't such a population be in constant clash to put one view over the other and thereby putting forth a constant clash between differnt groups of people in the same country thereby endangering the very concept of a nation-state itself. Same idea would apply for other subjects in the curriculum too for example we have different or clashing views propagated through a different curriculum over topics such as Geography in students of a country such Idea could lead to different representations of a country's Geography itself in the young and impressionable minds of its young population which could lead to conflicting views about a country land boundaries and its other Geography within a country's population as the young population grows up into mature voting citizenry.

This goes even beyond the like in subjects like Science if we imagine different curriculums wherein in one of the curriculums we put courses to a different levels of difficulty this would put the students at an additional pressure of reconciling the differences when they reach the college stages and put an additional burden on them..

So to sum it up I think that a uniform curriculum is the best way forward for any nation.