Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The greatness of a nation is measured by the general welfare of its inhabitants. The public should be happy and satisfied in order to move the country towards growth. While promoting arts may bring fame to the nation, in my opinion, issues such as unemployment and poverty are crucial and should be addressed first.

If the government keeps funding the artists while there are significant number of citizens starving or unemployed, it will not be just unfair but also inhumane. Funding arts will only benefit a certain group of people. The major function of the government should be to think of the happiness and satisfaction of their citizens. If the rulers completely ignore the suffering people and keep providing money to artists, the rich will get richer and the poor will get poorer, it will not contribute anything towards the growth of the nation.

Moreover, the problems such as poverty and unemployment can lead to more severe issues such as corruption and other criminal activities. Humans need to earn to have two meals for themselves and their family. Due to their helplessness, they can be lured to carry out criminal acts in return of high money. Furthermore, these destitute will only hate the government and may participate in riots and other acts that ruins nation's peace and spread fear.

If the government cares more about the contentment of all their citizens, the country can develop as a whole. If majority of the country's population is happy, healthy and satisfied, and the rate of unemployment is decreased, the per capita income will increase which in turn will result in the rise of country's GDP. This will be helpful in country's economic growth. The nation will benefit from this and will have enough money to fund the arts while also taking care of the economic condition of other citizens.

Art is important and preserving art and artists is necessary, however, priority should be given to the satisfaction and happiness of the whole country rather then just a group of certain profession.