Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers

of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing

and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the

recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples

shape your position.

History has borne witness to many great ancient civilizations which witnessed glorious periods of prosperity and the proliferation of fine arts. However, this growth in the artistic fields could not have been brought about without ensuring economic stability. The prompt suggests that nations should restrain government funding for the growth of arts when its people are struggling with issues like hunger or unemployment. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the aforementioned statement and will present my case with an argument against, and a stronger argument for the claim.

It cannot be denied that the domain of fine arts has had a transformative impact on the enlightenment of society. One only needs to look at the glorious period of Renaissance in the mid sixteenth and seventeenth centuries which gave a significant stimulus to the growth of artistic and scientific fields and brought about a "reawakening" in society regarding previously unquestioned hierarchical and religious beliefs. Thus, it can be argued that arts have a lasting impact on the outlook of a society's individuals and makes them well-rounded, empathetic individuals.

However, any growth in the artistic domains cannot be achieved without lasting economic stability - for instance, the lasting cultural impact of the Renaissance would not have been possible in the absence of a corresponding period of strong economic growth in the European countries during that era. Food and a stable source of income are unquestionably the most important requirements for an indivisual, and she can only focus on her artistic growth if she has a place to live and proper food to eat.

IN a nutshell, even though the field of fine arts is essential to the spiritual development of society, it cannot be brought about when a citizen suffers from more pressing, existential issues like hunger and unemployment. However, in my opinion, a complete withdrawal of funding for the arts is unwarranted and a partial diversion of requisite funds from these domains to help in more serious issues in times of crisis can be a suitable compromise for all parties concerned.