Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Some people argue that countries should not provide funding for art fields when there exists a domestic situation of high unemployment rate and large-scale starvation. And to some extent, I do agree with this propose.

It’s widely acknowledged that art is a spiritual food for the mankind, and it makes sense to take the advantage of art to feed the citizens’ heart when the domestic situation is not promising. The power of art can indeed ameliorate the negative feeling triggered by the food and economy shortage, by inspiring the people and providing them with the picture of the bright future. In earlier days, some African countries are enduring such situation, and their people did not lose hope, and this might be attributed to the art. African people usually live as a clan, and they have a deep belief in their totems, they invented their unique dance movements and they made songs and rhythms for celebrations. these are art, and art will amplify the happiness and sooth the pain. Hunter came back with food just enough for stay alive, but the African people still use the art to celebrate, and live on.

But is it that urgent for art to be funded in such scenario? I do not think so. Because art, unlike physical stuff requiring labor or money effort to obtain, is a product of spiritual creation, which do not take money as compulsory. Instead, art are greatly boosted in hard situation. During the Anti-Japanese war, the warriors are under the threat of intruders and starvation, and it is that moment, they composed many inspiring songs, and China’s national song, is also created under such scenario. Albeit history is history and we have a much civilized world, there is still some rules we can follow. When people are most unemployed and hungry, the first thing is to keep the people alive by providing food and health care, which is the top priority of government fundings. And whether to fund art or not depends on the remaining amount of government resources. Moreover, the arrangement of the art fund should be decided under great considerations, that is funding the type of art that is most close to the people, rather than those hard-to-understand things.

To sum up, I much agree the suspending art fund argument, not in a way that give zero attention to the art, but in a second-step way after what the government can do has been done, then we can have a detailed consultation on the art fundings.