Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers

of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the

recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing

and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the

recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples

shape your position.

A nation’s primary objective must be the welfare of its citizens. Hence, while preparing the budget for the country, a major chunk of it must be dedicated to those issues which directly affect the general public. These issues include food security and employment availability, which can be heavily influenced by government funding. Funding for arts can sometimes be necessary to ensure the preservation of cultural heritage of the country by encouraging various local art forms. But, when the well being of the citizens is at stake, the government should reduce the funding for these other tasks, and focus on the hunger and unemployment issue more seriously.

When the economic growth of a nation is sluggish, the citizens need to face the aforementioned problems of hunger and unemployment. Hence, more emphasis must be given on proper inflation measures and developing an infrastructure that is more bussiness-friendly. Also, there must be an increased emphasis on education, so that the quality of labour in the country improves, and eventually the country becomes an attractive market for skilled workforce. These measures ensure that the citizens become self-reliant economically, and take care of their basic needs like hunger . As the economic condition of the nation gets better, the quality of life of its citizens also improves, and the fundamental problem of hunger and unemployment becomes insignificant.

This can be very well studied by looking at the Indian national budget during the post-independence era. The government supported the development of elite educational institutes across the nation (e.g. IITs) in order to foster the development of skilled professionals. Import and export of food items was balanced is such a way that the nation would have sufficient amount of food for its citizens, including a sufficient amount of surplus, in case a disaster strikes the nation. All these reforms helped deal with the hunger and unemployment issues and the results were quite commendable.

But it is not always necessary to cut down specifically on the budget portion allocated for encouraging arts. There might be other unnecessary spendings scheduled in the budget (like buying excess weapons in times of peace, or preparing for an invasion) which can be compromised in order to ensure well being of the commoners. Also, the funding dedicated to art is primarily to encourage different kinds of native forms of art, which otherwise might become extinct. These art forms, if preserved, could also provide employment opportunities for the practitioners of these art forms, consequently making sure that they do not remain hungry.

Hence, a nation must prioritize funding those aspects which could boost the economy in times where hunger and unemployment prevail. This could mean reducing funding from projects that encourage local art. But, funding for art provides a way for the local practitioners to be employed and afford food, which does partially accomplish the purpose. Hence, if some other component of the budget is futile, given the circumstances, then it must be compromised upon, instead of slashing art funding.