No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Right from the inception of human species on planet earth, we have been always coming up with something new - making fire, inventing wheel, putting different forms of energy to use, discovery of electricity, inventing the computer, and so on. The prompt suggests that in order to make a significant advance in any field, it must incorporate knowledge and experience from different fields as well. This is increasingly becoming true in the present world and I agree with the prompt for the following reasons.

Firstly, as mentioned in the introduction, we have been and inquisitive species right from the beginning. We have always kept ourselves busy foraging from new discoveries, spending time tirelessly trying to invent something new so as to solve a problem, etc. In the inchoate stages of our existence, it was sufficient to spend quite some time tinkering with things related to a particular field to come up with something substantial in that field. We have done that for so long that it looks like we have exhausted all the possibilities of making a significant advancement in various fields when if we study them as stand alone entities. Thus, to make a consequential advancement or to solve the problems in today's world, we have to meld knowledge and experience from various fields. The problems that are present in today's world, be it global warming, poverty, endangered wildlife etc cannot be solved when we label them as belonging to a particular field. In contrast, they should be seen as problems that require expertise from different fields to surmount them.

Secondly, fields that we used to see as independent fields in the past are evolving into mutlidisciplinary fields in the present world. The problems that we face today necessitates the existence of such interdisciplinary fields. Roboitcs, Mechatonics, Neuro Physics, etc are a few of many such fields that are increasing becoming important to solve problems that cannot be solved otherwise. For instance, let us take the example of Robotics. This field requires the knowledge of Mechanics, Electical Engineering and Computer Science to make any pivotal progress in the field of Robotics. Therefore, as one can see, there is growing importance for multidisciplinary fields which is only anticipated to grow even further.

However, in the realms of our discussion, we cannot a few exceptions. There are few fields like Astro Physics, Nuclear Physics, etc that entails a profound knowledge only in those fields for the scientists to make substantial advancements in those fields. Spending countless hours in understanding different concepts only in such fields can be highly can be fecundity to make appreciable advancments in those fields.

To recapitulate, in the present world, knowledge from different fields should be combined in order to solve present day problems. There is also prolifiration of inter-disciplinary fields that entail knowledge and experience from various fields. However, there are a few fields that require a deep understanding of only those fields to make progress in them.