No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author claims that any field of study cannot grow unless there are inputs or expertise from outside that field of study. I completely agree with the author in this standpoint.

any subject or field is not just topics or expertise in just that field but a mixture of different fields put together. Anything in this world is interdisciplinary. Nothing works purely based on one particular field. To understand this better, consider an example of a mission to launch a rocket to the moon. The initial stages of the mission will revolve around researchers from different fields trying to understand what and where to study in the moon. In the further stages, engineers come into the picture to build the whole rocket. Now, building the whole rocket not just involves mechanical engineers but rather not all but most engineers from various disciplines like electronics engineers for the circuits, materials engineers for deciding upon the materials used in the rocket, computer engineers to decide upon and optimize the software to mention a few. People with expertise in logistics and planning try to plan for any disruptions in any availability and the measures that can be taken to avoid it. financial consultants are consulted to optimize the cost further thus reducing the overall build cost of the rocket. Once the rocket is built and up for launch, communication engineers come into the picture to establish communication with the rocket and the satellite. Once the rocket has landed on moon, data science engineers play a crucial role in analyzing the acquired data. The analyzed data is then sent to biologists for detailed research on the received data to arrive at any conclusions or new findings. As explained above, the launching of a rocket takes the expertise of many engineers, scientists and researchers who are from different backgrounds and fields.

consider another example as simple as the fan above us. A lot of detail has gone into designing the simple fan. Starting off with the exterior design, mechanical engineers and product designers play a crucial role in designing the structure of the fan. Continuing with electrical engineers who decide upon the motor requirement and based on this input, the designers have to further optimize the design of the fan. product designers also decide upon the aesthetics and the looks that go into the fan. based on all this, financial consultants along with market experts decide upon the price of the fan considering all market factors such as competitors, customer requirements and the market status. After all this, marketing experts decide upon how to market the fan for a better reach to increase profits.

From the above two examples, a clear conclusion can be arrived. any field of study cannot thrive or cannot progress if there is no support from other fields or considerable contribution from other areas of expertise