No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is not uncommon for someone to argue that if people don't cooperate with scholars outside of their field, there would not be any improvement. Proponents of the argument is people can learn from a total different view and have interaction without the boundary of discipline. In fact, I think the statement is insightful, but there is some flaw in it.

It is widely accepted that when there is a contentious question, there is probably an innovation, which means if the research or study is shackled in one field with homogeneous views, people won't get any breakthrough. Only when the new idea is introduced can they come up with new conclusion. This shows the importance to incorporates knowledge and experience from outside the field. For example, when inventing the underwater machine, scientists have no idea about how to detect the obstacle under the water since it is dark and mystery. Until they capture the motion of underwater animals, they finally get to use the sound as a perfect way to determine the distance. Of cause learning animals' behavior is out of their field, by using this knowledge, they solve the problem.

However, people will argue does it means doing every research should use the knowledge outside of the field, or if scientists use the experience outside the field, will they make great contributions? The answer is possibly not as mixed knowledge may lead to a false conclusion. That is because different subjects have different laws and regulation, some of them may be contradictory with another. In that case, the inter discipline studying may confuse the researches and have no use. Another reason is when considering the science field, some knowledge may seem useless such as poem and language.

Moreover, the third problem to use knowledge and experience outside of the field is that instead of finding the view on how to use them, why not devote into one field and make breakthrough. The scientists are easily to get detracted to do a research if they try to use different knowledge, and studying a totally new field must take their time and spirits. To make things worse, for most of time, it is rarely easy to learn a knowledge, people have to build another system as well as do experiment in order to understand the theory. For example, to learn a subject based both on computer science and finance needs both math skills and comprehensive ability. People may feel hard to learn both of them, and they could not learn either of them well.

In a word, I think in some situation, it is beneficial to adopt knowledge and experience from outside that field as the collision between different subjects may contribute a new finding. However, when people have no spare time and spirit, it is better not to study different discipline at the same time, since it may lead to confusion as well as contradictory.