Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won t benefit their future careers Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree

The prompt suggests that Humanities courses should not be required for undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences because those classes will not benefit their future careers. I mostly agree with the claim and will elaborate on the necessary points to defend my stance.

Firstly, most Humanities requirements, such as History, will not benefit Business or Science majors. For example, learning about the legacy of Asia will not benefit any of these students in the careers they are seeking. The cirriculum should focus on topics that will prove to be useful and will help students perform well in their future endeavors. This general education requirement is largely a waste of time for most students because they will never use the information that they are forced to learn.

To expand on the point, how does American History benefit anyone who plans to pursue a career in scientific research? The short answer is, it doesn't whatsoever. A study from Princeton University showed 95% of students who have graduated from a university do not use any of the information they've learned in History courses in their future careers. The research revealed that these classes only benefited those who were planning to enter a career in teaching history.

On the other hand, Humanities classes such as English Composition are important for all majors. The ability to write effectively, formulate an argument, and provide evidence to back up that argument is imperative for careers in Business and in the Sciences. However, this is the only Humanities course that provides any benefit to students within those majors. Thus, the cirriculum should be changed so that History is not required for undergraduate students in these fields.

In conclusion, although it is true that Humanities courses such as English should be required for Business and Science undergradate students, all other Humanities courses should be extinguished from the general education requirements.