One can best understand the most important characteristics of a society by studying its major cities.

Successful societies are home to several booming cities. if an outsider flying into the city on a 757 were to ask himself how to find a city's most important characteristics, is it reasonable for him to assume that he can come to find his answer by a thorough study of the city alone? The answer is no. To find the "most important characteristics of society", one must first define this term, and then consider that societies represent a variety of people of diverse backgrounds, not all of whom live in the city.

first, it is important to define our terms; we must consider what the phrase "most important characteristics" means. "most important" here is a highly relative term. what is important to me, might not be important to you. if I were to define the "most important characteristics" of a society as its economic prosperity, then I could surely say that these characteristics can be found by studying major cities. Streets lined with skyscrapers are often a sign of financial strength. if, however, I meant "most important characteristics" in another way, I would not necessarily be able to agree with the claim made in this prompt.

From here, I will examine a counterargument to my claim. this examination serves as the basis of my argument, so it is important to set the right framework. one might reasonably raise the objection that cities house millions of people of various backgrounds, and so are a representative sampling of society as a whole. this is a basic statistical principle where a researcher has to collect data only from a small subset of people (a minimum of 100 participants) in order to generalize that data to the wider population. this seems like a strong argument upon first glance, but it is flawed.

this argument is flawed because it fails to consider regional differences that might skew results regarding the question "how can one find the most important characteristics of a society?". For example, individuals in cities tend to lean toward the democratic party when considered as a whole. In the United States, cities like New York and Chicago almost always vote democrat. In the midwest, however, where there are few large cities and an abundance of rural communities, voting tends to go towards the red. this is important because each party holds different values that impact worldview. democratic city natives, for example, might value widespread healthcare and abortion rights, while a Kansan likely values a free insurance market and holds to a pro-life view. Which one of these is an important characteristic of society? if one were to only ask a city native, the results could be biased towards democratic ideals.

In reality, it is necessary to analyze cities, rural communities, suburbs, and every other type of community in order to obtain an appropriate and realistic understanding of a society's important characteristics. The results of each analysis can then be blended. For example, in cities the emphasis on religion is weak when compared to the Bible Belt of the midwest. so, is religion an important characteristic of the American society? Well, no one particular religion can make this claim. however, the idea of freedom of religion and religious tolerance is absolutely an important characteristic of this society. this is an answer that simply cannot be reached simply by studying major cities. cities are not a true representative sampling.

The most important characteristics of society cannot be determined by an in depth study of major cities, at least without defining our terms. Instead, it is important to take a cross section of various communities in a society, and blend the important characteristics of each to find a representative middle ground.