The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the healthiest citizens regularly eat.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Although it is possible that the citizens of Forsythe have intentionally adopted healthier lifestyles, the argument provided is not a cogent means to reaching this conclusion. By noticing, analyzing, and challenging underlying assumptions, we can undermine the strength of the position presented above.

First, the argument assumes that health is determined be diet alone. In looking at the statement above, it is glaringly apparent that there is no discussion of exercise in the role of health. Endeavors into the health field show that leading a sedentary lifestyle damages the body and may lead to serious health conditions such as osteoporosis and arthritis later in life. Clearly, the role of physical movement is meaningful. In addition to addressing the impact of physical movement, the author needs to provide statistical data indicating upward health trends to bolster the argument. For example, the author can include information on the number of doctor visits for non-traumatic reasons, obesity rates, and the prevalence of heart attacks. Each of these factors influence health apart from food intake.

The second assumption is that the survey results are reliable and represent the population. For example, in the discipline of Psychology researchers hesitate before using a self-report measure because subjects often poorly report their own behavior. Many in the study likely fibbed about nutritional habits due to a sense of shame or embarrassment. The risk of this only increases if the study lacked anonymity. Still others may lack awareness of just how detrimental their diet is to their health. For this reason, the types of questions asked require analysis. Inquiring "do you eat healthy?" skews data to show a higher rate of healthy lifestyles, while interrogating "how often do you eat these specific foods?" indicates the truth more completely. Lastly, it is important to assess if the participants in the study are a representative sampling of the wider population. The answers of 10 people shopping at a local health foods store will produce a different result than the responses of hundreds of people selected at different times and locations. For these reasons, we must challenge the assumption that the survey presents reliable, accurate, and valid data.

The final assumption to challenge is that high kiran, low sulia foods were purchased intentionally by health conscious individuals. Why? For one, to say that residents of this town "adopted" healthier lifestyles, assumes they have intentionally chosen this path. However, we can wonder if these foods were chosen because they are cheaper, taste better, or are more widely accessible. For example, some unhealthy foods are heavily taxed making them more expensive than their healthier counterparts. Consider also that this increase might be a trend seen only at one store in the entire town. The argument would benefit by citing statistical information across multiple stores. For these reasons, we need to take this final assumption with a grain of salt.

For any of these challenges to underlying assumptions prove warranted, the conclusion is significantly weakened if not altogether false. The argument presented here would be thrown out, and ultimately might serve to damage any future notion that citizens are leading healthy lifestyles. In other words, this argument might serve to damage the reputation of the position.

The citizens of this town may truly lead healthier lifestyles than they did 10 years prior. Unfortunately, the argument presented does not allow for this conclusion. A failure to address underlying assumptions ultimately weakened the argument.