In order for any work of art-for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song-to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the human history, some artists are respected for their masterpieces by the public, while the majority is merely neglected by the people. One might say that the works should be understood by the contemporaries in order to have some kind of merit, but I disagree with the given claim, regarding the significant examples of chef d’oeuvres esteemed posthumously.

Granted, if an artist is praised to demonstrate fathomable works by most people, he or she would garner such advantages. Take Leonardo da Vinci as a compelling example. While he is appraised as an ingenious architect, painter, sculptor, and inventor, he was already assessed in the same way at his times. He was definitely patronized by the House of Medici as his talent was admitted by the public. Not only his pieces of works but himself as an artist, were very highly appraised. Such an epitome of a successful artist demonstrates that whether being understood by the people is a very critical factor to have merit.

Nevertheless, there are some artists who were venerated after their deaths. Vincent van Gogh is a very prominent example. It is very well-known that he was not so respected during his life, while suffering from poverty. He had not even had enough money to buy materials for painting, which is clearly demonstrated in the series of his letters with his brother, Theo van Gogh. Later after his death, the consensus of panegyrize about van Gogh appeared in the art history, which never demolishes so far. In South Korea, van Gogh is ranked as the most preferred artists in the national scale. Van Gogh, as a conspicuous example, proves that it does not have to be necessarily admitted by the contemporaries to have such merits.

Furthermore, posthumously esteemed artists are salient in the field of literature as well. Franz Kafka, who is recognized as one of the greatest writers ever, was actually trifled until his death. It is another well-known story that Kafka left a will to a friend of his, to incinerate all his manuscripts, before his death from tuberculosis. If his friend was loyal to the will, we would not be able to relish his masterpieces such as “Metamorphosis”. Kafka is another preeminent prodigy, who was unfortunately overlooked in his times.

To summarize, despite the importance to be understood by the contemporaries, I disagree with the claim that this is the prerequisite to show such merits from an artist’s oeuvres. Further, I would like to note that we must try our best not to miss another ingenious artist.