The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the memorandum, the business manager of the television station insists that the station should abrogate their recent change of the time devoted to national news, weather, and local news to its former level, in order to captivate their viewers again reconstruct contracts with sponsors. The argument seems persuasive at glance; however, the paucity of evidences leads readers to question its cogency.

To begin with, the business manager should provide more evidence about persistency of short-term reflections from viewers, since it has only been a year after such change in the television station policy. In general, people who have got used to former systems likely be reluctant to any change, yet such disinclination may spontaneously diminish over following times. In cases, some policies which provoked objections at first have even been acknowledged as prescience, in the following years. In order to be more persuasive, he should have been providing further examples of long-lasting negative responses in the history of the television station, or in recent days of other stations.

Next, the text lacks evidences to say that the viewers are less gripped because of the decrease of time devoted in weather and local news. It could be true that there were negative feedbacks from certain viewers, but it does not necessarily mean that these viewers therefore quitted watching the news. Furthermore, there could have been positive feedbacks as well; the broadcast station may have appealed to viewers who appreciated such change, or may have even enthralled new potential viewers by means of this change. The president does not present any evidence about the existence of positive feedbacks or about direct causal relationship between the loss of attraction and their new policy.

Finally, more specific evidence is required for readers to be convinced by the business manager that such restoration will be helpful to avoid losing further advertisements. There are many other reasonable explications to which the end of the contract is attributed. People may generally do not watch television at late night in recent days, due to the re-opening and cessation of remote working by the end of the COVID-19. Other platforms such as Youtube and Netflix may have contributed to this as well. People may simply do not watch news, regardless national or local, since it is not exciting enough. Even the reason of the annulation of the contract is not written. Without such pieces of specific proof, it is unlikely that the restoration will make remaining sponsors concrete.

In brief, without a thorough examination of the various angles and factors involved, the business manager’s argument regarding the effectiveness of the restoration is unsound. In order to bolster his argument, he should provide further information about the persistency of short-term responses, direct relationship between charm and their new policy, and the concrete relationship between the loss of sponsor and their new policy.