Originality does not mean thinking something that was never thought before; it means putting old ideas together in new ways.

Originality can have different meanings but certainly, it cannot be restrained to something that is completely new or was never thought of by someone else before. Hence, I partly agree with the prompt that originality means amassing old ideas in varying ways to generate new thoughts while considering that one’s pure thinking should also be regarded as original.

Admittedly, people’s unique perceptions about something can be considered original. For example, the invention of the steam engine shows us how an individual’s view can produce a great discovery. Though scientists knew the power of steam, it was only James watt whose view about steam led to the creation of the steam engine. No one perceives the massive power of steam like him and no one ever thought of using the potential of steam like him.

Another significant example could be the invention of gravity by Newton. We all know that things fall when we throw them higher but Newton found the cause behind this ordinary phenomenon and his thinking brought a drastic change in the realm of science. The discovery of gravitational force paved the way for lunar exploration and so much more. Therefore, it can be said that originality suggests something that was never thought of the way it is now.

But the definition of originality cannot be restricted to this view only. Originality can also refer to something that is generated by thinking old ideas differently. The music industry could be a great example of this notion. Nowadays many music composers are using old music in their compositions to create fusion. Therefore, portraying the old music in a unique way or the way the present audience would like to enjoy the old songs. By doing so, they also help to conserve the heritage of music.

Even one can also consider the automobile industry as an example. The latest cars we use are actually made in compliance with some basic principles that were also used in the first car. Does that mean we are using the copied cars? Obviously not rather the present cars are more developed and new technologies are added to make these cars more comfortable and reliable. Furthermore, different companies make different cars and they are all unique in their own way. Similarly, the internet we are using now was never like this before. Internet was first used by the US military and over the course of time, it is refined to become reasonable for public use. So, it is the old internet but in a unique way.

To sum up, the definition of originality should not be restricted to a particular view because it does have different meanings. Gathering the previous inventions in order to generate something new is original at the same time the unique perception of a man is also original.