“In our time, specialists of all kinds are highly overrated. We need more generalists—people who can
provide broad perspectives."
To quote the saying, "Jack of all trades, master of none," would be my position on the statement. I feel
specialists in all areas of knowledge lead to a higher standard of living for everyone. Specializing in
different areas allows us to use each others talents to the highest level and maximize potential. As an
example, if a person required brain surgery, would they rather have a brain surgeon or a general practitioner
doing the work? Clearly a specialist would do the better job and give the patient a chance at a better life.
A university education starts by laying the groundwork for general knowledge but then narrows down to a
specific field. General knowledge and a broad prospective are important, but if there was no focus on
specific areas, our overall knowledge as a population would be seriously lessened.
Another example of specialists not being overated would be international trade. Not every nation can
provide for themselves. They need to get products and ideas from other parts of the world because they are
better at providing them. This allows for a growing economy if two different nations can provide each
other with two different products. If one country can produce oranges better than another, it should trade
the oranges for the fish that it can not produce. If generalizing was the normal thing to do and both
countries tried to produce all kinds of products, the countries would probably survive, but not have the
standard of living they presently have.