“In our time, specialists of all kinds are highly overrated. We need more generalists—people who can

provide broad perspectives."

In this era of globalization, science and technology together with rapid social change lead to a complex life where both the positive and negative effects on persons in our society call for a balance between specialists and generalists.

In the present context, Specialists are necessary to gain in-depth knowledge of a particular topic because information and knowledge are so vast and wide-ranging that a single person is not enough to grab all the details of a particular topic. For instance, one might go to a general practitioner for a checkup and the doctor can treat any kind of normal disease. However, when the usual way of treatment does not work or the medicine does not work the way it should, one needs to meet a specialist who can determine the cause of the disease and prescribe accordingly. In case of surgery, a general practitioner is inadequate. Therefore, the patient must go to a surgeon.

In the context of education, a generalist is needed at an earlier stage of the study, when a student starts to learn language, science, history, math etc. A generalist can help to generate an overview among the student which in turn helps the student in their further study. But at a higher level of education when a student starts to learn specific topics such as algebra, arithmetic, anatomy etc. a specialist is needed. A generalist is not sufficient to provide adequate teaching in those fields because a generalist is not taught specific details on those topics. In fact, it is not possible to learn every detail of a topic because of the abundance of knowledge. However, it was convenient in the past as there were few fields of study. But nowadays a generalist can always go to a specialist for any query.

On the other hand, over-specialization may lead to vague conclusions. For example, a specialist in toe-nail might think the whole human body is white. Nobody will hope to determine the whole body by just seeing the toenail. Therefore a generalist is required to present a wholistic view. Again the narrow focus of a “specialist” approach can hamper an individual’s life by limiting one’s views. It can force a person into a pigeonhole at a very early stage of life, therefore compel one to view the world from a very tiny aspect. But a generalist and only a generalist can observe the world from a broader perspective and can present solutions of problems that can be impossible for a specialist to find out.

Because of the nature of the world, it is necessary to have both generalists and specialists in our society. With only the specialist, we might confine ourselves to a narrow boundary and limit our advancement and with only generalists, we will have difficulties stepping up when intense or specific details are needed. Therefore, we need a balance of generalists and specialists.