Undergraduate students majoring in Business or in the Sciences should not be required to take any courses in the Humanities since those courses won’t benefit their future careers.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

Undergraduate students majoring in business are more likely to willingly study courses related to their respective fields as compared to courses in humanities which they may consider to be rather germane to their career in the long run.

In addition to the courses in humanities being irrelevant to their careers, studying additional courses will take them a relatively long time to finish their undergraduate degrees. By opting only for courses related to their fields students will have the ability to finish their degrees much earlier and proceed to the next step in achieving their career goals.

It is also important to note that studying additional courses will result in higher expenses making the already skyrocketing extant college tuition fee even more difficult to afford. Moreover, by opting only for courses relevant to their fields, students will be able to understand the subjects at a much deeper level as they will be exposed to only these particular subjects in depth. This bolsters the students to decide what they want to do once they graduate without any confusion regarding which field they want to pursue their career in.

Although not making courses in humanities mandatory for students majoring in business or the sciences has several benefits, it is important to also take into consideration that students exposed to courses outside the field they are majoring in will result in them becoming well-rounded individuals who have been exposed to other fields as well. This can also spark creativity in the freshly graduated youth as they will now have the ability to integrate ideas between different fields hence coming up with more innovative solutions to modern problems.

It can be concluded that while taking courses in humanities has its advantages, the benefits of opting courses in a single field are far more superior.