As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement talks about one of the most debated topics in today's time: Technology and extent of human dependency on them.Technological innovations and creativity are becoming increasingly rampant. Technological advancements has lead to calculators,smart vaccum cleaners, automation etc which has hijacked our day to day activities. The recent dangerous byproduct of automation are self driving cars, which is currently in Testing phase and may soon hit the roads of california. With such inventions coming our way ,I agree with the statement that the tendency of humans to think for themselves will surely go downhill.

Lets discuss about the degree of influence of technology on our day to day lives. We rely on problem solving techniques to such a extent that when the machines stop working we are in worst shape. The ubiquitous influence of calculators and cash registers on our life are consummate examples. They have decreased our ability to perform simple calculations. Instead of using calculators for complex computations we use them for simple computations not wanting to give our brain minimal amount of work. Subsequently, this can be labelled as self induced "brain fog"!

Secondly, Technology has resulted in lose of human connect and emotional touch. The above statement can be expounded further With the example of birthday reminders tools in our email and Vidoe calling Apps. A pre typed birthday email can be automatically sent from our email id to the respective person on his birthday. This tool is indirectly forcing the person not to put an effort to remember the loved ones birthday and sent out a birthday wish on his birthday. The above is a perfect example of "Technology replacing a persons obligation towards his/her loved one's". A more abnoxious usage of Technology which is increasing nowadays is: Getting engaged via Video calling apps. Above is a epitome of "Technology replacing human presence/attendance".

Moving forward into more dangerous arena - Automation, self driving cars. We need to question ourselves whether we need self driving cars?10 years down the line do people want to travel in self driving cars interacting with a new version of Alexa giving us automated responses. Are we really ready for such a drastic shift from "human to human contact" to "human to machine" contact Wouldn't it be nicer to have a another person driving you to your destination , exchanging one or two conversations with the person. Additionally, automation has led to massive job cuts where the menial factory jobs are being replaced by robots and machines. Thus, leading to poverty in people who do not have a fancy degree under their hats. Therefore, people should call upon government to impose a regulation to limit technological innovation and creativity.

I do see the positivity technology has bought into our life's. The connectivity provided by internet is ineffable. It provides us access to information otherwise unavailable. An IT tech engineer can automate the daily mundane tasks and use the spare time in solving other complex issues. Although, the advantages of technology are fairly discernible in our lives. We need to pose a question to what degree the technology can advance. It should be responsibility of the citizen to decide whether they want to become puppet in hands of technology or they would like the other way round.

In all conclusion, technology is heading into a dangerous area where its making human lackadaisical. Hence people need to take call and put regulations defining to what extent technology can have influence on their lives. The decision to take in the positive results of technology and reject the negatives it brings lies on the shoulders on the individual.