As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Every year technology surpasses every milestone it set the previous year and as a result last year’s technology drops in price and therefore becomes more accessible to the public. While advancements in technology are generally regarded as a positive matter, it is likely that their reliability for problem solving will diminish humans’ ability to think critically.

Aside from millenials, most people can recall being pressured into mastering basic arithmetic in maths class as ‘they would seldom have access to a calculator outside of school’. However, today everyone walks around with a compact device that can easily provide an answer for any question its’ user could think of, let alone calculate some elementary school maths problem. As the popularity of these devices flourished, so did the opportunities for application developers who could profit of something as mundane as reminding people to drink water throughout the day or stand up from their desks intermittently.

While more complicated applications of the latest technology, such as artificial intelligence and machine learning, require the most talented scientists and engineers, the finished product is often intended to be noncomplex, intuitive and elequontly implemented into the user’s life. Bringing technology of such magnitude straight to the user will undoubtedly cause them to rely on it too much without considering the negative long-term effects.

As impressive and revolutionary as today’s technology is, its ease of use and widespread applications are undeniably robbing humans of their ability to think for themselves. Rather than wasting time thinking, it is much more convenient to look up the solution to a problem or to use a tool that someone has created for that exact purpose.