In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Becoming an expert in any field is extremely time consuming, it is said that mastering a subject takes 10,000 hours. After all this time spent studying a subject, experts have acquired an unrivaled understanding and have become great sources of information about the said subject. Therefore experts are much more capable than any beginner in providing important contributions to any field of inquiry.

Experts are by definition the most qualified individuals regarding a subject; they have devoted years or even decades on perfecting their skills and knowledge. In most subjects, an expert has done very specialized research, sometimes even developing groundbreaking theories or applications. With that said, an expert knows the subject better than the vast majority of the population.

Even though time is the most obvious tangible factor of expertise, that does not mean that becoming an expert is easy. On the contrary, it is extremely challenging mentally which is why only a small percentage of the world‘s population are experts on any subject. An expert will have faced countless challenges which have individually proved too difficult for most people. Therefore, consulting an expert with an inquiry on his or her subject is much more likely to yield results than asking a beginner of the subject.

On the other hand, the beginners may be more reachable than the experts and will have recently struggled with the topic of the inquiry. They may also be more susceptible to understanding poorly worded or misguided questions on the subject. However, this has little or nothing to do with their ability to make an important contribution to the inquiry. While the beginners may have some advantage when it comes to communication, they ultimately lack the knowledge on the subject.

While it may sometimes be more convenient to consult a beginner on an inquiry, it is highly unlikely to yield the same results as asking an expert. Experts know the ins and outs of the subjects after years of developing their superior knowledge and are therefore more likely to provide important contributions to the inquiry.